In the News


SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. – The 2018 Southwest PGA Match Play Championship is scheduled to take place July 16-18 at Ancala Country Club in Scottsdale, Ariz. The Section’s first major of the season begins with 60 Southwest PGA Professionals competing in a 64-player field bracket. The top four seeds received opening round byes – Michael Hopper (1), Dennis Downs (2), Matt VanCleave (3) and Craig Hocknull (4).

Defending champion, and the top seed, Hopper, 34, PGA Assistant Golf Professional at Lookout Mountain Golf Club in Phoenix, Ariz., will attempt to win his third consecutive, and fourth overall, Southwest PGA match play title (2011, 2016, 2017). Last year he defeated Marty Jertson, 37, PGA Professional and Director of Product Development for PING Golf, 1-up in the final match at Desert Forest Golf Club in Carefree, Ariz.

“I’m really looking forward to the Match Play Championship as it’s certainly one of my favorite events, if not my favorite event, to play every year,” said Hopper. “This year’s venue, Ancala Country Club, is a perfect match play golf course that could will make for some exciting finishes. I am fortunate to be the top seed but there are a lot of great players in the field and anything can happen in match play.”

This year’s field consists includes eight past champions – Chris Dompier (2010), Chris Enders (1995, 1998), Brandon Evans (2014), Hocknull (2013), Hopper, D.K. Kim (2015), Paul Trittler (2004) and Randy Wittig (2002).

The Championship gets underway with the opening round matches on Monday, July 16 at 7:30 a.m. followed by second round matches at 1:00 p.m. The round of 16 and quarterfinal matches are scheduled for Tuesday, July 17 at 7:00 a.m. and 12:30 p.m., respectively. The semi-final and final matches are slated for Wednesday, July 18 at 7:00 a.m. and 12:30 p.m., respectively.

John Jackson, PGA General Manager at Corte Bella Golf Club in Sun City West, Ariz., has the most victories in the history of the Championship (1976, 1978, 1980, 1988, 1993). Hopper, Jackson and Tom Tatum (1982, 1985, 1992) are the only Professionals to win three or more Match Play titles. Last year Hopper became the first player to win consecutive crowns.

Greg Norman Collection and the PGA Tour are sponsors of the Match Play Championship.

PGA HOPE Southwest
Arizona Golf Alliance

Find A Professional

Enter your zip code to find Southwest PGA's database of green-grass and teaching Professionals in your area.

Southwest PGA Premier Partners